Adidas Half Marathon 2013

Being new to the blog writing band waggon. I have just submitted an article to the Women’s Running Magazine, it asked to write 500 words about any running related topic. Enjoy.

I generally hated running at school, to the extent of hiding in the toilets the day cross-country day was announced waiting for what I called ‘the PE geeks’, who were the leading girls to run past the small window in the loo. Then I would head out after them pretending to be tired after the long run.  How the times have changed. I left school 6 years ago and now at age 22 I love it.

Then in 2012 I decided to enter the ballot for the London Marathon. I don’t really know what possessed me but whatever it was, I’m glad it did. After months of waiting I unwrapped the cling film packaging of the magazine containing a letter stating I hadn’t gained a place. I’m not going to lie I was gutted. After ploughing through the magazine I found it talked about the Silverstone Half Marathon.

Being a Formula 1 fan I thought this would be ideal. Off I went, signed up, paid my fee, truly excited for the run. The months passed and I wasn’t training as much as I should have. By the time I approached the start line with only running 4 miles in ‘training’, I was absolutely petrified, undertrained, and cold. I’d done everything my race guide had told me to do, cut my toenails, put Vaseline everywhere and put talcum power on my feet. I even wrote down the drinks station points on my hand. I ploughed through getting to the 5 mile point was an achievement in itself the furthest I’ve ever run.  Seeing my mum and dad cheer me on in amazement that I was still running and didn’t look too knackered, really made me push on. I managed to finish in 2 hours and 27 minutes without stopping!!  I wouldn’t recommend not training properly to anyone but the fact I completed the half meant I was chuffed.

073

That’s where it all started. I HAD to beat that time. Not long after I signed up to Nike’s Run To The Beat half marathon. I’m due to run this in September. You’ll be glad to hear I am training properly. I run 3-4 times a week 5-10 miles every weekend, and have started a running club on Wednesday lunch times with a few work colleagues. A few of us also entered the JP Morgan corporate challenge 5k run.

After telling my uncle about the race he kept hinting to run a marathon with him. Thinking about it, I am glad I didn’t get into the 2012 London Marathon, as I would have been so unprepared. Now, on the other hand I’ve been running since March 2013 and have covered around 220 miles to date. After another few conversations with my uncle, I gave in and signed up for a full marathon. Did I mention he lives in Malaysia?!! Yes this November I am running the Penang Bridge International marathon. I am really looking forward to the experience; my uncle and I send regular training updates to each other keeping us focused. Now I just have to beat him.

Leave a Reply

