Review – Bangkok: Mandarin Hotel Managed By Centre Point.

After a long flight from London I decided to book into a hotel for the first night before diving into the backpacker lifestyle.

I booked via Agoda and picked it due to the price (under £30) and the fact it was near a train station (Sam Yan) I did in fact use the train station due to arriving so early I wanted to avoid having severe jet lag I made myself go out and explore. If suggest this to anyone travelling to power through as it really helps.

I got to the hotel around 9am and my room was ready which was great. The first thing I used was the shower, the water was hot and the shower unit powerful. The toiletries included were also to a good standard no pungent smells coming from them. The toilet is actually pretty fun to use with many settings from Bidet to Feminine wash. The seat is heated and you can adjust the water pressure to suit
IMG_9211.JPG

The kingsize bed is so comfy the pillows fluffy and the duvet a very good quality. The rooms are light and airy with modern appliances and decor. Tea and coffee along with water is provided complimentary. The only thing that puts me off the rooms is the corridor, you can hear people walking quite loudly I believe the hotel will nee to invest in a carpet to stop the disturbance.

The location is good as it’s by a train station and cost about 400 Thai Bhat from the airport. Only down point is there didn’t seem to be restaurants near by and the nearest 7/11 (convenience store) was over a very busy road. But the staff at the hotel walked me there as I struggled to find it which was really nice. Room service was very good, I ordered spring rolls, chicken satay and a brownie. I ordered two starter plates thinking they may be quite small, the portions were pretty big for a starter. The food was of a really good standard and very tasty! The brownie was the best as it was warm and sweet. It came in around 15-20 minutes and cost just over 400 Thai Bhat so about £8

Unfortunately I didn’t use any of the facilities only the pool. The towels are provided which is great being a backpacker. The pool is very clean and wasn’t busy at all. It’s perfect to relax and sunbathe after a long day of walking round the temples Bangkok has to offer. For a one night stay I would recommend this hotel for any longer you may want a more peaceful sleep unless you’re happy with using ear plugs.

IMG_9098.JPG

IMG_9192.JPG

One response to “Review – Bangkok: Mandarin Hotel Managed By Centre Point.

Leave a Reply

