Bangkok Thailand – Attractions – what I got up to.

Bangkok renowned for it’s glorious temples was not to be missed. Out of my 6 days in Bangkok I filled 4 with attractions. On the first day of arriving I went to the reclining Buddha, it’s like nothing I have ever experienced before religion wise. It’s huge as truly fascinating to see it’s made from solid gold and Thais come pray along with Monks who there is free entry for. For tourists it’s 100THB to enter.

Next I went on to Wat Arun which is also pretty impressive made out of stone and very high, you can climb it if you dare. The steps are pretty steep but it’s well worth doing for the view. Although I don’t go at night it’s supposed to be amazing to see the temple all lit up. The entry is 100THB and you get a free bottle of water too. Which is needed in the Bangkok humidity. To get to the Wat there is a small public boat that crosses the river to enable access for only 3THB super low fare.

Jim Thompson’s house is a really good morning or afternoon away from the hot sun in Bangkok. It’s easily accessible by MRT. His artwork and furniture have been preserved as he would have lived. Tours are every half an hour in English and the guide was very informative. You will need to store your belongings in a locker provided you can take your camera along but no photos are to be taken inside. The grounds are really nice to wander round and there’s a cute coffee shop that serves pretty good coffee at a price. I’d not really heard of Jim Thompson apart from what was in my guide book but I’m really glad I went. It was something a bit different to learn about. Jim Thompson actually went missing in Malaysian Borneo and no body was ever found.

Chatuchak Weekend Market is huge, hot and cheap. Deal of the day was an elephant fan for 30THB. Which has now come in real handy for the rest of the trip. It does get really hot here so I’d suggest going in the evening or early morning when it’s a little cooler. They sell everything you could imagine here from puppies to rocking chairs I didn’t actually but anything else whilst there die to not having a room in my backpack. Trying not to buy junk is hard for me as I love a tourist bit of tack. Only buying useful bits of tourist tack like the fan, for now anyway!

IMG_9300.JPG

The Grand Palace in my eyes isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Seems to be a must for everyone in Bangkok but I did think it was going to be better. At the time scaffolding was round the main palace and it was quite hard to navigate. I’m glad I went but I wouldn’t suggest for people to go. I much preferred Wat Pho and Wat Arun for a more spectacular building and temple especially as it’s 500THB for the palace.

IMG_9215.JPG

IMG_9156.JPG

One response to “Bangkok Thailand – Attractions – what I got up to.

  1. Pingback: Sun, Cities And Adventure On The East Asian Coast | terriwillis.com·

Leave a Reply

