My Guide To Planning The Perfect Safari

I look at all my travels as adventures, and I love to get out into raw and natural landscapes. Exploring cities is fun, but getting away from them allows me to explore the earth in its natural state. I love any chance to see wildlife or imposing scenery that stretches as far as the eye can see. That’s why I think safaris are some of the best journeys you can go on. If you want to plan a perfect safari, here are some of my ideas for getting it right.
  
David Berkowitz

Choosing Where to Go

When someone says “safari”, you probably think of Africa. And so do I. But you might be surprised to find there are lots of other countries where you can experience a safari. You might not see any lions or elephants, but you can still take in some incredible wildlife and scenery. Before you settle on Kenya or Botswana, don’t forget to consider other locations. You could go looking for tigers in India, see an enormous array of wildlife on the Galapagos Islands or go polar bear spotting in Norway. There are lots of vastly different experiences, but they all count as safaris.

Levels of Comfort

One of the most important things to think about is just how comfortable you need to be. I’m not very high-maintenance, so something to sleep on and keep my dry is really all I need. But I know that’s not the case for everyone! Don’t worry if you can’t survive without a proper bed, because you can choose a luxury safari for your trip. In fact, it doesn’t have to be that much of a luxury to give you a bed to sleep on. You might also want someone to cook for you, and some places will have a permanent camp with smart tables and chairs. It’s up to you how comfortable you need to be.

Travelling Ethically and Responsibly

One of the things that I try to think about when I’m planning my travels is being an ethical traveller. I don’t want to have an adverse impact on the environment or the local people. Luckily, it’s usually very easy to recognise an ethical travel company. They make it a point to tell you about how they conduct their business. Their website should explain how they conduct themselves responsibly. Maybe they join in with conservation efforts or employ local guides, for example.

Making the Most of a Safari

When you’ve booked a safari, you need to make the most of it. I have a few ways that I keep track of my travels so I can reflect on them later. Obviously, I blog about them! I also make sure to take a few pictures, although not so many that I’m not paying attention to everything around me. Keeping a travel diary is an excellent idea too, especially if you want to blog about your trip when you get home.

I’d love to plan a safari for one of my next trips, although I’m not sure where I would go. But since I’m in Australia, an outback safari might be necessary soon.

Leave a Reply

